276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I understand he's from Yorkshire, but it does show some short sightedness to seem to assume your audience is from your geographical region. The staff there have been receiving poison pen letters and the ladies have to work hard to solve the mystery. I am hoping the next book in this series, if there is one, will go back to all the things that I loved about the first book. I found it very hard to keep track of all the different characters and their relationship to one another, and the numerous side plots made for a very disrupted flow of the story. But, despite the poison pen letters (a stable of classic mysteries) nothing moves this plot forward.

Retired school teachers Liz, Pat and Thelma never expected they would be caught up in a crime even once in their lives, let alone twice!Retired schoolteachers and amateur sleuths Liz, Pat and Thelma have a brand-new mystery to solve in this witty tale. Thelma, Liz and Pat our trusted group of retired schoolteachers are, once again, pulled into a mystery that needs solving. Malice and mayhem spur a school reunion of three modern Marples – and some of their Thirsk community learn a lesson they’ll never forget ! The book desperately needs a proper edit, in particular the spelling mistakes and inconsistencies, of which there are plenty.

You couldn't even tell that these women were friends with the way they spoke to each other like strangers. It felt like the characters were stuck in the past and I did find myself getting frustrated with how out of touch they were.

It did not, the novel frequently hints at scenarios that could lead to murder or lead to a body, that kind of thing but then these scenarios end up being nothing at all. I haven’t actually read the first book (it's on my tbr tho) but I enjoyed this cosy mystery and I loved our three main characters Liz, Pat and Thelma. Hall’s own knowledge of and experiences as a deputy head in a primary school seamlessly emanated throughout and this really added another level to this book. It is an easy to read cozy mystery with a good pace but as in the first book, there was some unnecessary filler, which made it drag a little in places. The author has found his writing style and I hope we will have more books with these wonderful characters.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment